Fairfield Intensive English Centre

To live is to learn

Telephone02 9724 6885


Key learning areas

Students learn English through studying 9 different Key Learning Areas (KLAs). These KLAs provide students with the specialised language needed to succeed in an Australian mainstream high school. The school places students into 4 different levels based on their English language level:

  • Foundation - Beginner students
  • Level 1 - Competent¬†
  • Level 2 - Intermediate
  • Level 3 - Advanced

The 9 KLAs are:

  • English
  • Mathematics
  • Science
  • Information Technology (Computers)
  • History
  • Visual Arts
  • Geography
  • Physical Education (PE)
  • Personal Development (PD)

More information about each KLA is avaliable on the "Subject Areas" link on the right hand side of this page